Notts County Games Archive: A Journey in Time

Notts County, one of the oldest football clubs in England, holds a prestigious place in the history of the sport. Founded on 28 November 1862, the club predates the Football Association itself. Notts County’s history of success and devoted fans ensure its ongoing impact in the football world.

A Storied History

Notts County’s legacy spans over a century, with notable achievements along the way:

Event Year
Club Founding 1862
Predates Football Association Yes
FA Cup Victory 1894
Seasons in Top Division 30

Current Status

Statistic Value
Current Season 2023-24
League Tier EFL League Two (4th tier)
Promotion Status Promoted from the National League
Home Ground Meadow Lane
Spectator Capacity 19,841 spectators
Nickname The Magpies
Top Goalscorer (2023-24 Season) Kyle Wootton (9 goals in 12 appearances)

The 2023-24 Season

In the ongoing season, Notts County is making their mark:

Statistic Value
Current EFL League Two Position 1st (Top of the Table)
Points from League Games 24 points
League Games Played 12 games
Wins 7
Draws 3
Losses 2
Goals Scored in League 29 goals
Goals Conceded in League 23 goals
Goal Difference in League +6

Notable Notts County Games

Notts County’s history is filled with remarkable encounters:

Biggest Wins:

Opponent Competition Score Year
Newport County Division Three (South) 11-1 1949
Rotherham Town FA Cup first round 15-0 1885
Shildon AFC FA Cup first round 7-2 2003
Wealdstone FC National League 6-1 2022
Barnet FC National League 6-1 2022

Heaviest Defeats:

Opponent Competition Score Year
Swansea City FA Cup 1-8 2018
Fulham FC Second Division 0-7 1935
Newcastle United League Cup 7-1 1993
Rotherham United League One 0-6 2014
Ipswich Town First Division 0-6 1982

Most Watched Notts County Games

Opponent Competition Spectators
Manchester United First Division 46,278
Manchester United First Division 45,928
Liverpool League Cup 42,231
Liverpool Second Division 41,095
Liverpool Second Division 39,735

Least Watched Notts County Games

Opponent Competition Spectators
Sunderland U23 EFL Trophy 633
Grimsby Town EFL Trophy 746
Scunthorpe United EFL Trophy 752
Boreham Wood FC National League 756
Boreham Wood FC National League 821

Notts County’s Legends: 5 Most Notable Players

Player Position Notable Achievements
Jimmy Logan Forward FA Cup winner (1894)
Tommy Johnson Forward Top scorer in Division Three (North) (1922-23)
Les Bradd Forward All-time leading goalscorer for Notts County
Don Masson Midfielder Key player in 1970s successes, promoted to Division One
Tommy Lawton Forward Prolific striker during the 1940s

Certainly, here’s a section highlighting the five highest transfers in Notts County’s history in a tabulated format:

Notts County’s Highest Transfers

Throughout its history, Notts County has been involved in notable transfer deals, both in and out of the club. Here are the top five highest transfer transactions involving the Magpies:

Player Transfer Fee Transfer Date From Club
Lee Hughes £750,000 August 2002 West Bromwich Albion
Ade Akinbiyi £650,000 March 1998 Bristol City
Callum McGregor £500,000 August 2013 Celtic
Tommy Johnson £500,000 October 1997 Derby County
Jon Stead £400,000 January 2010 Ipswich Town

These high-profile transfers reflect the club’s ambition and the desire to strengthen the squad with quality talent over the years.


Founded 1862, Notts County’s journey in EFL League Two exemplifies enduring legacy and fan passion, a testament to the club. With a rich history and a promising future, The Magpies continue to make their mark in English football.

Aek Athens fc. games | The 2002 World Cup | Borussia Dortmund Standings | Coventry City F.C. Standings

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *